Rotary District 6920 Conference Main

Rotary District 6920
Additional Information Web
Southeastern Georgia, USA



Preston Johnson Annual High School Speech Contest

2022 Speech Contest Pictures
Zone Contests
Eastern Zone

Club Contests
2022 St. Simons Rotary

2022 Golden Isles Rotary

2022 District Club Participation

Initiated in 1997 by Dublin Rotarian and Past District Governor, Preston Johnson, the Preston Johnson Rotary District 6920 Annual High School Speech Contest is a special project engaging Rotarians, educators, and students in a meaningful and rewarding opportunity for personal development of our nation's future leaders. Originally named the 4- Way Test Speech Contest, the contest evolved over the years to focus on the current International President's Annual Theme or the 4-Way Test. No matter which theme is used the basic premise remains: the speech contest requires students to research and learn about Rotary in preparing a short speech; in doing so, the students as well as all audience members receive an invaluable review of the great service which is Rotary.

Club Presidents & Speech Contest Chairs notify school administrators and educators at local area high schools. These individuals should be informed of the Rotary High School Speech Contest and a Scholarship each of the three Zone winners will receive after their speech presentation at District conference. All high school students may compete, freshman through senior. A student having placed or won the club or zone contest in past years as an underclassman may still compete as long as they remain a high school student.

Each year the contest theme is based on Rotary International President's theme or they may choose instead the "Rotary 4-Way Test". Speeches are limited to 3-4 minutes with points deducted by the judges for less than 3 minutes or more than 4 minutes. At each club contest, three students will be selected as the first place, second place, and third place winners.

Two finalists from each Rotary club are allowed to compete at the Zone contest. The three first place finalists from the Northern, Eastern, and Western Zones will present their speeches at District Conference, with no competition, and must be present to win. Unfortunately the District Budget will not support the three $1,000.00 scholarships this year due to the state of the economy. However, we can continue to give the three $1,000.00 scholarships if each club will agree to pay a $100.00 Zone Entry Fee for each finalist (maximum of two) attending the Zone competition. Please see the Speech Contest General Information for more information.


Zone Contest Winners

Western Zone:
1st place- Deacon Hazel sponsored by Valdosta Club
2nd place- Emma Register sponsored by Valdosta Club

Eastern Zone
1st place- Griffin Lee sponsored by Golden Isles club
2nd place- Nathan Hayes sponsored by Effingham Sunrise club
3rd place- Ali Murphy sponsored by Golden Isles club

Northern Zone
1st place-Nevaeh Lagroon sponsored by Dublin club
2nd place- Jayson Wright sponsored by Milledgeville club
3rd place- Leo Zhang sponsored by Macon club